Tags

, , ,

For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Davis Pearce.  I am proud to be a part of the first ever Social Media class at MTSU.  I am taking this class simply because our environments revolve around social media now, and if you’re not connected then you might as well bow out early.

I have been wanting to start a blog for quite some time.  My Social Media class gave me just the excuse I needed.  Here are a few goals I hope to achieve throughout the process…

1.  My main goal in starting this blog is to develop better writing skills.  Most everyone knows how to write in an educational sense, but it is a different story writing to a public audience.  Honestly, it’s a little scary knowing people will read this and possibly think I’m an idiot.

2.  We have discussed several reasons for social media use in class, but the one that sticks out to me is ‘engagement.’  I strive to be able to engage an audience.  In the professional world, I think this becomes extremely important.  It is one thing to be able to give a presentation but truly engaging your audience takes skills.  Hopefully, this blog and the content I add to it will allow me to develop some of those skills.

3.  My last goal is to simply have fun with it.  The entire social media process has been somewhat of an adventure, and I intend for it to be fun.  Even if this blog is meant for professional development, I hope it will still be entertaining.

