Tags

, ,

I have been questioning this topic for the last few weeks after this cover was released.  Sandra Gal won Golf Digest’s hottest golfer award.  I believe it was voted on by the fans.  She beat out some pretty big names like Rickie Fowler and Paula Creamer.  The question that comes to my mind is, “Is this really good for golf?”  I know the LPGA has struggled recently and so has the rest of the game as a whole, but I don’t necessarily believe sex appeal has to be the answer. Granted this Golf Digest cover is not tacky or unprofessional.  I’m just saying she is probably not going to tee it up in those heels any time soon.

There was another LPGA star who recently hit the news for her looks, Natalie Gulbis.  Of course, Gulbis is probably more known for her appearance than her golf game anyways.  I fear that the LPGA and these female golfers are sending a false message to young female athletes.  I know women’s golf is not very exciting, and I know most people could care less but there is a responsibility to these influential women to promote the game and its core values.  Maybe I’m being old fashioned, but I believe there are better ways to promote the LPGA and women’s golf.

-DP

